Walnut Creek Country Club has a rich history dating back over 55 years.
In 1955, the original owners constructed the Farmington Country Club at the corner of Haggerty and Twelve Mile Roads. By 1960, the club had grown to 245 members.
The Farmington Country Club hosted the Michigan PGA Championship in 1961 and the Michigan Open in 1961 and 1962. After a member vote in 1982, the club was renamed to Farmington Hills Country Club. Due to the road widening of Haggerty and Twelve Mile Roads in 1983, the membership considered a property exchange to the north side of Twelve Mile Road. This move never came to fruition because of conflicts with property developers. By 1987, the existing 133+ acre property was sold off in parcels and the Club purchased its current location, Godwin Glen, a 27-hole golf course in the Charter Township of Lyon. The Club also purchased an adjacent 89+ acres for future expansion. By the end of the year, the club was renamed to Walnut Creek Country Club. In 1988, the membership voted to increase the number of Regular Members to 375. In 1990, the bylaws were amended to provide for 399 Regular Members.
In 1989, the clubhouse was built for Walnut Creek members.
Around that same time, world-renowned golf course architect, Arthur Hills, was retained to design and renovate the existing course. In 1995, the North Nine opened and the Club became an official Arthur Hills signature course. Walnut Creek Country Club has continually invested in numerous course enhancements throughout the years, including a current upgrade to meet the highest standards.
Walnut Creek Country Club has a strong financial position, with membership levels near capacity year after year. The Club continues to invest in facility enhancements to provide members with a first class country club.